Open a Mobile's Menu Open Search


Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology

KIOST’s Dr. Youn-ho Lee wins WESTPAC Outstanding Scientists Award

  • HITS : 3786
  • Date : 2017-04-21
WESTPAC Outstanding Scientists Award Ceremony 바로보기

The Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology (KIOST, President Hong Gi-hoon) announced that Dr. Lee Youn-ho, one of its chief researchers, was awarded the WESTPAC Outstanding Scientists Award by the International Oceanographic Commission’s Sub-commission for the Western Pacific (IOC-WESTPAC) on April 17, 2017.


As an expert in marine biology and genetics, Dr. Lee has published about 80 theses, registered some 20 patents, and authored five books. Since 2012, he has served as the vice chairperson of IOC-WESTPAC and worked to build a foundation for the exchange of marine biology information among countries in the Western Pacific region by establishing the WESTPAC marine biology diversity portal site as project leader of the DNA Taxonomy and Recruitment Monitoring of the Coral Reef Marine Organisms (DRMREEF) project.


Additionally, his development of a system for the management of marine protected areas and sustainable use of marine resources with the participation of local residents, which has already been successfully established in a coastal village in Guimaras, Philippines, has been evaluated highly for its contribution to regional development.


Upon receiving the award, Dr. Lee commented, “I am pleased that Korea’s advanced ocean science and technology and contribution to the international community have been recognized, and will continue to dedicate myself to the development of ocean science and technology.”


IOC-WESTPAC was founded in 1989 to promote the development of ocean science and international cooperation in the Western Pacific region. The inter-governmental organization currently has 22 member countries, including Korea, China, Japan, and the U.S. The WESTPAC Outstanding Scientists Award was introduced in 2014 and is awarded every three years. This is the second time the prize has been granted, and the award ceremony was held at the 10th International Scientific Symposium in Qingdao, China.



Content Manager :
Last Update : 2020-03-07